Still Here, Still Kicking

A year ago, I nonchalantly went in for my annual mammogram. A year ago, I learned I had breast cancer. A year ago, I learned how scary those two words are.

Today, following surgery and radiation therapy (and unbelievably wonderful support from all of you), I’m celebrating 11 months of being cancer free. Caught early, I was one of the lucky ones. I’m perfectly fine today. Perfect, really. Because I got my regular mammogram and had access to excellent health care.

Yeah, maybe I’m not quite as gorgeous as I was before, but such a small price to pay for being able to watch our children flourish and our grandchildren grow up.

So just a short blog to say thank you to all of you for your kindness and support – and to remind my girlfriends: Don’t forget to get your mammogram!

thank you

XOXO to all of you.

2 Responses

  1. Hey Tmac – sorry to hear you went through that – but so happy you are “still here – still kicking” – great attitude –

  2. I second this, annual mammogram = early detection = life

Leave a Reply

