Best Friends

Dogs don’t live long enough. Period. We give our hearts to them – and they give theirs to us – and then they leave us all too soon.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

We came home from a wonderful trip to the Baltic to find our beloved Boo staggering around the house, unable to walk without falling. As I tearfully hugged her, I asked Scott if he thought she’d had a stroke. When we made it as far as the kitchen, we found the answer in a stack of papers from the vet – our girl had geriatric vestibular disease – a sudden disorder of her balance system. She became quite ill on Monday and our wonderful house sitter had the sense to take her to the vet immediately.

So that was the bad news. After talking with the vet today. I feel somewhat better. This is something that just happens to old dogs, and it usually clears up within a month. She’ll never have her old sense of balance back, but the vet assured me that she would figure out how to deal with it.

We’ll have our best furry friend around for awhile longer, but this close brush with the end made me so sad. Boo is so much a part of our lives, our family, our hearts. I had to imagine yesterday what life would be like without her, and I didn’t like it one little bit.

3 Responses

  1. Poor Boo! I hope she feels better soon.

  2. Terry, I am sorry about Boo’s health issues. I hope she is able to join us at the Lake next summer.Love,Jane

    Date: Wed, 17 Jul 2013 22:14:48 +0000 To: jane.mckenzie@msn.com

  3. Your message really hit home. Stardust joined our family about a year ago and like you I cannot imagine life without her. Hope you and the Boo can resume your walks!

Leave a Reply

