Chick-Shut-the-F-Up-Fil-A

I don’t like stupid people. Perhaps they shouldn’t be allowed to marry because then they’ll breed and make more stupid people.

Oh wait, I forgot. I don’t have God on my side. See, if God is on your side then it’s okay-dokey to be as bigoted and hate-filled as you want. In fact, it’s so OK that if we encourage you to line up at Chick-Fil-A and show the world how bigoted you are. Step right up, folks, and get some delicious Chick-Fil-A. Their special sauce? God-infused hatred. Yum, yum.

I get so tired of this and I’m straight. I can only imagine what it’s like for my family and friends who are gay. Not so long ago I had a conversation with my housekeeper, an otherwise lovely woman of whom I am genuinely fond. A born-again Christian, Teresa tried to explain to me that she doesn’t blame my son for being gay. In fact, she prays for him every day, that the “evil inside” will be exposed to God’s love and go away. I sat at the table stunned. Then slowly got up, went to her, put my arms around her, looked her in the eye and said, “Teresa, I know we have different views on this. But I promise you there’s nothing evil within my son. The only thing within him is what God gave him freely and lovingly.” Teresa turned brick red and stammered an apology. Which was beside the point. Because she only said what she honestly believes.

The last thing I need is for a top executive from a popular food chain to be promoting more hate talk and more nonsense like this.

To quote Rodney King, “Can’t we all just get along?”.

Leave a Reply

