And I’d Want to Eat Head of Veal Why?

Because if you can convince me, I know where to get the best head of veal in Paris. Or so I’m told.

I just hope that, when served, it doesn’t look like this:

Lest you think I have no sense of adventure, I did – albeit very reluctantly – order pigeon at a wonderful three-star restaurant, Le Tour, in Sancerre. It’s yet another example of why it’s so important to, dare I say, follow your gut.  I couldn’t look at the dish without think of disgusting pigeons in the park, and then when the song, Feed the Birds, popped into my head, I knew I was pretty much doomed not to finish the plate.

But despite these two sketchy incidents, the food in France was wonderful. Some of our best memories are around food, both at restaurants and put together ourselves. I’m convinced that no one makes cheese like the French, and that their baguettes are to die for. Throw in the absolutely extraordinary produce we found, add some great wine, and you, too, can eat like a king!

I know I’m skipping ahead a little, but I did want to share with you how we ate lunch and breakfast everyday aboard the boat we piloted through the Loire Valley:

This was a wonderful way to see the French countryside and have a relaxing midday meal, unless one of your group is in a hurry to get to the next stop, and insists on driving the boat during lunch. This may have been a fine idea, and perhaps our friend, Doug, really wasn’t drinking too much wine, but when he veered to the far right to avoid a boat coming the opposite direction, the result was a small collision with a large tree branch. Food and wine went flying everywhere!

Quelle tragédie! Wasted wine! Oh no!

So the food was fantastic and memorable. The other experience that we just loved, and that I’d recommend to anyone going to Paris, was our side trip to Giverney, Monet’s home and the place he painted his famous water lilies.

Green, gorgeous, tranquil, and filled with flowers, Giverney takes you back in time. You can see, smell and feel how Monet was inspired. It was extraordinary.

Part of the visit is a tour of Monet’s home. For me, it was like visiting the holiest of all shrines.

Feasts for the stomach and for the eyes. Pretty darn cool. Next week, the long-awaited story of the Metro thief who chose the wrong tourist to pick.

6 Responses

  1. No one can really convince anyone to not eat meat. I used to eat veal as a child and loved it…until I found out it was baby calves…. That put an end to my veal eating and I did not have to be convinced. I am a vegetarian by choice..no convincing I just found factory farming to be abhorent…and at this point in time..factory farming or not I feel that for me to eat meat, or dead flesh as I like to refer to it is quite gross. But to each his own. I am planning a trip to France so I hope I can find plenty of veggies to eat and can by pass the viel or escargross…

    ..Can’t wait to read the story about the Metro Thief 😉

  2. That’s the one good thing about being vegitarian..it’s my excuse to not have to try exotic food like snails or pigeon, or snake…;)

    And I love cheese….and bread..and coffee…

  3. Just teasing, I was vegetarian for about 3 years in my twenties, mainly due to my concerns over intensive farming and the the fact that our government seems to see no wrong in bulking food out with water and other less appealing ingredients, however I did miss the taste and ‘mouthfeel’ of meat. My solution was to take up hunting, thereby ensuring only the highest quality meat enters my stomach, high quality in the ways of I see every part of the animal and can assess its fitness for eating, but also the quarry species available to me, rabbit, wood pigeon, hare and deer are low in fat and have some very additional manierals that are lacking in name other meats. Paris is slowly waking up to the idea that some people choose not to eat meat, and I believe there are now a few good restaurants to eat at, they just need seeking out. In London I used to eat at a superb vegetarian restaurent called Cranks, but that was in the eighties.

Leave a Reply

