Spring Back in My Step

It’s hard to believe that just a year ago, I was in Cleveland with my mom in her last days on this earth. Those were dark days but I’ve had time to heal, get some distance, and rebalance my life.  And I’m doing great.

First, I think my mom is happy, wherever she is.  She was tired of her body falling apart and of not being able to do everything she wanted.  She missed my dad.  She was ready for whatever comes next. And we were ready to let her go. It was time.

Second, in the past 12 months, I’ve come to embrace my new life away from work. To my astonishment, I don’t miss it at all. I was worried that I would be bored, that I would be lonely, and that I would feel useless. And you know what? I’m not bored, lonely or feeling useless.

My family is happy that I’m around. My dog is thrilled.  I’ve planted a garden, traveled, read dozens of books.  I keep an active life online and stay in touch with treasured friends around the world. I give back to my communication profession as a Melcrum Black Belt trainer. I pick up the occasional consulting assignment – if it looks interesting. And if it doesn’t, I’m happy to refer it to someone else.  I’m here to tell you: this is an awesome gig!

One of the most healing things I did was go through all the old photos with my sister.  I saw my parents as young, middle-aged and old.  But happy through all the years of their lives. I saw how they loved family, friends, travel, their lovely home – and most important, each other. It made me feel better about saying goodbye to them, because, in fact, they lived wonderful lives. And have inspired me to do the same.

With joy, I watch my garden grow.  Peppers, tomatoes, citrus, figs, herbs and beans coming to fruition in their own time.  Like me.

Leave a Reply

