Turn, Turn, Turn

To every thing there is a season, and a time to every purpose under the heaven:
A time to be born, and a time to die; a time to plant, and a time to pluck up that which is planted;
A time to kill, and a time to heal; a time to break down, and a time to build up;
A time to weep, and a time to laugh; a time to mourn, and a time to dance;
A time to cast away stones, and a time to gather stones together; a time to embrace, and a time to refrain from embracing;
A time to get, and a time to lose; a time to keep, and a time to cast away;
A time to rend, and a time to sew; a time to keep silence, and a time to speak;
A time to love, and a time to hate; a time of war, and a time of peace.
(Ecclesiastes III (King James Version))

This is my time to change.

Since going part-time in February, I’ve had a lot of time to think about what I really want to do next.  One of my early realizations was that after having the opportunity to work at Sun, I was going to find it difficult to replace that experience.  I need some distance, and so it feels right to return to my consulting roots.

And so I’m taking a deep breath, and I’m leaping off that cliff of comfortable routine and well-known territory.  As part of that, although I remain a part-time employee of Sun, this shall be my last post at blogs.sun.  You can find my new posts – and my old ones – at tmacwords.wordpress.com.  Please join me!  And please wish me luck.

Sun will always hold a special place in my heart. Starting with Scott McNealy, Sun allowed me to take big risks, try new things, and build what was the finest employee communication team in the world.  I don’t know what the future holds with Sun and Oracle, and I hope I can have a part in the next chapter.  But even if I don’t, I owe a huge debt of gratitude to Sun and its thousands of employees.

That was then.  This is now.  See you at my new adventure!

Terry

 

5 Responses

  1. Congratulations!

  2. And I thought you were creative when you developed the “cube of mission, vision and values” at National. Would’ve been fun to have Greg and Sloane on that project! What a great next step for you! Can’t wait to see what happens.

  3. One good thing about the Sun situation is that so many fabulous people are going to new places and are spreading their wings. Your website is fabulous. I’ve always enjoyed your blogs. So, keep up the great work and you will shine! Good luck and let’s keep in touch.
    Marcy

  4. Congratulations Terry! As always you totally blow me away with your thoughtful pursuit of excellence! Very impressive. Good luck and let’s stay in touch.

  5. Best wishes on your newest endeavor Terry–I know you will be very successful because you always seem to know how to pick a winning team!

    Perhaps we can partner up to do some joint projects together in the future–it would be wonderful to work with you again. 🙂

Leave a Reply

